The four estates

Your little trivia byte for today: what are the four estates? Well, originally there were three estates: the first estate was the clergy, the second estate the nobility, and the third estate the commoners. The fourth estate is the press, and was coined in 1837, reflecting their increasing prominence and power.

Maybe you knew all that before, but it's the first time I ever heard any of those terms. Just doing my bit to get EPIC going and kill the fourth estate for good.